It’s all happening in June.

Well, mainly it’s weeds, which I don’t seem to be properly on top of this year. This plot suffers badly from three main perennial nasties; Couch Grass, Marestail and Hedge Bindweed. All of which are difficult to deal with whilst you have crops in the ground so I’m either letting the crops compete or pulling out what I can, when I can and hoping for the best.

So, how are the crops we talked about earlier in the year? Well the Occa trial is still a bit hit and miss, I only got plants from about half the tubers but those are well established and growing strongly.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The first Tomato plants (Moneymaker) are rampaging away and covered in flowers although no fruit has been spotted yet.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The accidental Pumpkin that germinated inside one of last years fruit as not only survived but has set fruit which are already almost ripe! It’s taken up about a quarter of my polytunnel space however so I don’t think I’ll be repeating the experiment unless I end up with considerably more undercover growing space.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA
SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s more to follow later in the week but I’m going to weed a bit before I show you the rest as, currently, it’s a little bit messy….. ; )

Leave a Reply

